Ashwani Kumar's Jara Hat Ke Songs

RADIO SLBC (CEYLON) JULY 25, 2009

Posted on: July 25, 2009

Announcer: Junior Female Announcer

 

I tuned around 7.05AM but could not trace the radio signal. But soon after 5-6 minutes it was available.

Time: 7.00AM to 7.30AM

Program: Ek Hi Film Se – Baap Re Baap (1955)

Click here to listen to the songs of BAAP RE BAAP (1955).

 

Time: 7.30AM to 8.00AM

Program: Purani Filmon Ka Sangeet – All songs sung by Rafi Saheb except the last one by K.L.Sehgal (Which I could not perceive due to weak signal).

Jo Dil Ki Baat Hoti Hai – Baaz 1953 – Majrooh – O.P.Nayyar

Ye Hai Duniya Ka Bazaar – Bazaar 1949

Tu Hai Ke Nahin Hai Mujhe Bhagwaan Bata De – Cannot locate this song.

Jab Tak Tu Bhagwaan Se Apna Aap Chhupayega

Radio signal became weak after this song.

 

Time: 8.00AM to 8.30AM

Program: Aap Ki Pasand – Again all requests for Rafi Saheb’s songs. I could not identify the first song.

Oonche Oonche Mehlon Wale Ban Baithe Bhagwaan – Jaagir 1959 – MADAN MOHAN

Khoya Khoya Chaand – Kala Bazaar

Kehte Hain Jise Duniya – Rafi – Taxi 555 – 1958

Hum Pyar Mein Dhoka Kha Baithe – Dhool Ka Phool 1959

Maine Peena Seekh Liya – Gooj Uthi Shehnai

Main Rikshawala – Chhoti Behan 1959

5 Responses to "RADIO SLBC (CEYLON) JULY 25, 2009"

Thanks so much my friend.

Being a Rafi Sahaab fan, I appreciated your efforts in giving us his “Zara Hatke” numbers.

Radio Ceylon was my favourite radio station when I used to hear it as a child. The old numbers that were played from 7.30 to 8 a.m., and then the Farmaish Geet from 8 a.m. to 8.30 a.m. were just heaven.

I got nostalgic seeing the title of your site.

Have a nice day.

Nasir

Thanks for whole hearted encouragement. In fact I was also child (only 4-5 years old) when my mother used to ask me to tune Radio Ceylon. At that time we were in Lucknow. It was 1963-64. Since then I have been listening to the Radio Ceylon. Now a Days the Radio Signal is not better, may be due to global warming, because most of the Short Wave is reflected back by Ionospheric layers. But still I manage to catch it using Philips Bahadur DL167 model, at Delhi, India. The Radio Set (it is a valve set – National Ekco make) which I used to listen during 1964 is still available with me and whenever I get a strong signal I tune the Radio Set.
I have written so much because today I got a friend who touched my heart via these comments.
Thanks Mr. Nasir many many thanks.

Thanks for the reply Eraks.
If you have been listening to Radio Ceylon since 1963-64, that’s great. Speaking of that era, I remember that Rafi Sahaab was at the zenith of his singing career. Binaca Geet Mala was my most favourite programme which used to be aired on Wednesdays at 8 pm., for an hour with some 16 songs. In one of their programmes in December 1964 (or nov.63) almost all the songs were of Rafi Sahaab. I remember that one because my Roman Catholic friends had gone to see the Pope who was visiting India. I was keen to hear the Binaca programme and therefore I didn’t accompany them.
I wonder if you would remember that particular Binaca Geet Mala.
More Power to your Blog my friend!

Nasir

Dear Sir
If I correctly recall (and after checking my records also) it was 1963. The song of Tajmahal was sartaj geet. Also Parasmani, Mere Mehboob, Phir Wohi Dil Laya Hun, Dil Ek Mandir & Humrahi etc. were released same year.
If we look into 1964 it was the time of Mukesh Saheb “Bol Radha Bol Sangam”.
It could have been 1963.
Rafi Saheb sung for all the heroes as well as comedians of his time. One of the example is Johny Walker. He had a different style for Shammi Kapoor and different for Johny Walker. Completely merged with the character.
Unique & Marvellous!!!

Thanks eraks.

You’re probably right about Bol Radha Bol, and I think that in that particular programme this was the only song played. I seem to stick to December because that Euchristic Congress was held in December and one of the days was a Wednesday because I was just waiting for the Binaca Programme and didn’t stir out of the house.

Yes of course, Rafi Sahaab sang for all the heroes and comedians of his time as you so rightly observe, merging with the characters. In this regard, I invite you to visit my site htt://www.nasir-eclectic.blogspot.com to read my article in some eleven instalments, which also deals with the life and times of Rafi Sahaab. I’m also in the midst of writing about him in the Forties and Fifties.

Have a nice day eraks.

Leave a comment

To Watch A Video

1. Click the Music Director's Name.

2. Scroll through the page to check     name of films.

3. Click the name of film.

4. Scroll through the page.

5. Play the video of your choice.


e-mail: eraksharma59@gmail.com

“Embedding Disabled By Request”

Click the black screen again if you get "Embedding disabled by request" message.

The song will automatically open in a new page.

Archives

Welcome, You are the visitor number:

  • 88,797 - since April 13, 2009.

Recent Comments

Dr. Hasmukh Bhatt (… on Din Hai Suhana Aaj Pehli Tariq…
Rajendra singh Gour on RADIO CEYLON IS BACK
Abhijeet Pathak on SACHCHA JHUTHA (1970)
eraks on RADIO CEYLON IS BACK
eraks on RADIO CEYLON IS BACK